Saturday, April 20, 2013

GE13: Nomination day throws up many shockers

Nominations have ended with several unexpected twists, paving the way for an unpredictable election campaign.

The first shock came after it was announced that two DAP members had been sacked from the party for contesting as independent candidates.

In Cheras, incumbent Teratai state assemblyman Jenice Lee was sacked by the DAP disciplinary board for fielding as an independent and has been given 14 days to make an appeal.

Similarly in Malacca, the parliamentary seat of Kota Melaka has been left in an odd conundrum when its incumbent MP Sim Tong Him, who is contesting there under the DAP banner, was sacked for fielding himself as an independent in the Kota Laksamana state seat.

Continue Reading...

Sources said Sim would continue to run in Kota Melaka as a DAP candidate despite being thrown out as the Election Commission (EC) has yet to receive an official letter from the party on the matter.

Umon also sacked former Agriculture and Agro-based Industries deputy minister Datuk Seri Mohd Shariff Omar from the party for contesting as an independent in the Tasek Gelugor parliamentary seat in Penang.

It is understood that Mohd Shariff is contesting as a Pakatan-friendly independent in Tasek Gelugor and also the Sungai Dua state seat.

Another shocker was when Barisan Nasional candidate for the Pasir Mas parliamentary seat Che Johan Che Pa did not to submit his nomination papers in Kelantan, paving way for a straight fight between Perkasa president Datuk Ibrahim Ali and Nik Aziz's son, Nik Abduh Nik Abdul Aziz.

Kelantan Barisan Nasional told reporters that it would launch a probe into why Che Johan failed to sumbit his papers and on its next strategy for the seat.

The day also saw numerous unexpected independent candidates joining the fray in some seats.

In Ipoh, the Kuala Kangsar parliamentary seat will see a three-cornered fight with Umno Wanita deputy chairman Datuk Kamilia Ibrahim joining the fray as an independent. She has since announced she was resigning from Umno.

She is set to clash with Barisan's Datuk Wan Mohammad Khairil Anuar Wan Ahmad and PAS' Dr Khalil Idham Lim Abdullah.

In Kuala Lumpur, PKR's Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim will face a four-way fight for the Bandar Tun Razak parliamentary seat against Barisan's Tan Kok Eng, with two independent candidates (Mohd Sukeri Abdul Mamat and Mokhtar Salahudin) joining the fray.

In Pandan, Datuk Seri Ong Tee Keat's former private secretary Allan Tan Yew Leng will contest as an independent for the parliamentary seat against MCA's Garry Lim and PKR's Rafizi Ramli.

There will be a five-way tussle for the Batu seat with incumbent MP Tian Chua of PKR facing off with Barisan's Dr Dominic Lau Hoe Chai and three independent candidates which are Atan Jasin, Nazariah Abbas and Datuk Hashim Karim from Berjasa.

The Machang Bubuk state seat in Bukit Mertajam which will see an epic six-cornered fight between Gerakan's Tan Lok Heah, PKR Lee Khai Loon, Kita “Datuk” Dr Vicky Vikneswaran, and three other independents - Datuk Tan Hock Leong, Wan Balkis Wan Abdullah and Ooi Suan Hoe.

Meanwhile, tension between PKR and PAS allies emerged over a few seats.

PKR is fielding Badrul Hisham Shaharin or Chegu Bard for the Sungai Acheh state seat despite Penang PAS picking its Youth chief Mohd Yusni Mat Piah who claimed it was originally a PAS seat that was “loaned” to PKR in the 2008 polls.

Chegu Bard will take on PAS Youth chairman Mohd Yusni Mat Piah and incumbent assemblyman Datuk Mahmud Zakaria from Barisan.

Labuan will also see a three-way fight with PKR joining the fray by fielding Tan Sri Ibrahim Menudin who will clash against its PAS ally Hadnan Mohamad and Umno fresh face Rosman Isli.

In Terengganu, PAS broke ranks by fielding three candidates in state seats which were originally meant to be a straight fight between ally PKR and Barisan.

PAS is fielding Adam Mat Said to go against PKR's Mohamad Abdul Ghani Ibrahim and Barisan's Mohd Mahdi Musa in Kota Putera.

In Bukit Besi, Roslan Ismail will run as the PAS candidate against PKR's Mohd Shamsul Mat Amin and Barisan's Roslee Daud.

For the Seberang Pakir state seat, PAS' Zakaria Dagang is in a three-way fight with the incumbent Datuk Ahmad Razif Abdul Razak of Barisan and PKR's Ahmad Nazri Mohd Yusof.

All seats were previously won by Barisan candidates

Related Posts with Thumbnails

Latest Malaysia News