Sunday, July 14, 2013

Five MCA division chiefs want Dr Chua to resign immediately

Five MCA division chiefs have called on their president Datuk Seri Dr Chua Soi Lek to resign over his haphazard implementation of the party's stand not to take up government positions following its dismal general election performance.

They said Dr Chua was not walking the talk in implementing a resolution, which called for non-acceptance of government posts at all levels.

"Meanwhile he continues to offer random interpretations on the non-acceptance of government posts," they said in a joint statement.

The leaders who took the joint stand against Dr Chua are Titiwangsa chief Datuk Alex Chuah Poh Kiang, Datuk Kuan Peng Soon (Teluk Intan), Datuk Yap Ke Huat (Kuala Krau), Datuk Eng Fook Heng (Paya Besar) and Tan Chong Seng (Kuala Selangor)

Continue Reading..

They said his resignation will expedite the party's efforts to transform itself to meet the Chinese community's expectations.

They said Dr Chua's attitude towards the resolution that he championed without reservations has now brought ridicule and embarrassment to the party and members.

"The situation has become quite silly and laughable at the party's expense.

"We urge him most strenuously to step down today so that we can begin our transformation process without further delay," the statement said.

In April 2011, after a presidential council meeting, Dr Chua said the party would adopt the "no government posts" position if its candidates fared badly in the 13the general election.

He secured endorsement for the policy from the party's central committee in June.

In September, Dr Chua clarified that the non-acceptance of government posts was applicable to all levels, from federal to village.

This involves about 11,000 members.

In October, the party's general assembly endorsed the move.

The leaders said soon after the general election Dr Chua reminded members who had yet to resign from their government posts to do so.

They said Dr Chua had also reiterated that he would step down as the Penang Port Commission chairman.

However, when asked soon after the election, he snapped at a reporter: "You are harassing a senior citizen."

Until today, the leaders said Dr Chua has yet to resign from the post.

Former Tourism Minister Datuk Seri Dr Ng Yen Yen had appeared to run foul of the party's stand when she took up the Tourism Malaysia chairman post.

Dr Chua had said Dr Ng, the former Raub MP, did not defy the party stand as the appointment came from the government.

However, the party has suspended Datuk Tee Siew Kiong for three years for defying the party stand by taking up his appointment to the Johor exco.

Tee, the party's former national organising secretary, is appealing the decision to the central committee.

In GE13, MCA contested 37 parliamentary seats but won only seven. In the 2008 polls, the party won 15 seats.

MCA only won 11 state assembly seats although it contested in 90 constituencies in GE13.

In the 12th general election the party secured 32 state seats. - July 14, 2013.

Related Posts with Thumbnails

Latest Malaysia News