Tuesday, June 11, 2013

PKR should not boycott Parliament swearing-in, says its Wanita chief

PKR Wanita chief Zuraida Kamaruddin said that all Pakatan Rakyat MPs should not boycott the Parliament swearing-in ceremony.

"In my opinion, we should attend the swearing-in. It is only after we are sworn in as Members of Parliament that we can sit in the Dewan.

However, she was unrepentant over the boycott of the briefing session for MPs in Parliament on Tuesday.

"All of us in Pakatan already agreed not to attend the briefing.

"But the swearing-in is important to the constituents and those who voted for us to raise their concerns in Parliament," she said in a press conference here Wednesday.

Continue Reading...

PKR vice-president Tian Chua previously suggested that all Pakatan MPs boycott the ceremony, but the idea was shot down by both DAP and PAS.

All Pakatan MPs except one, Bakri MP Er Teck Hwa boycotted the briefing in Parliament in protest of the election results.

Meanwhile, DAP Whip and Seremban MP Loke Siew Fook said in a statement that MP for Bakri Er Teck Hwa was given a stern warning but would not be referred to the DAP disciplinary committee.

"Party leaders took a serious view of the matter and has issued a show cause letter to him on Tuesday to explain.

"Er has given a written explanation and apologised for his actions.

"This should be a lesson to Er and all DAP MPs to always act collectively and to comply with the party leadership decisions in the exercise of their duties as DAP MPs," said Loke in the statement.

Related Posts with Thumbnails

Latest Malaysia News