Saturday, June 8, 2013

MIC threatens to boycott Perak government over Speaker’s post

The MIC threatened today to reject all government posts in Perak if the state government under Umno’s Datuk Seri Dr Zambry Abd Kadir refuses to award the Speaker post to one of its party leaders.

In a statement to the press, MIC president Datuk Seri G. Palanivel said his party would remain Barisan Nasional-friendly (BN) in Perak but would not accept any executive councillor post in the Umno-dominated state leadership.

The party would also reject its appointments to the posts of special officer and adviser to the mentri besar, the Cameron Highlands MP said.

“When the opposition was running Perak state government it gave an Indian the Speaker’s post,” Palanivel said, according to the statement sent via text message to The Malaysian Insider today.

The opposition won Perak in Election 2008 and gave the post of State Assembly Speaker to then Tronoh assemblyman V. Sivakumar ― the first Indian in the state to be given such a position.

“When the BN took over the state government, MIC was given the Speaker’s post,” he added, referring to Perak MIC chief Datuk R. Ganesan.

“Now we have been deprived of the position,” Palanivel said. “The Perak mentri besar should decide to give us back the post.”

Continue Reading..

The party chief said MIC’s central working committee will meet on June 18 to discuss the matter, along with other issues related to the coming party elections.

The issue, said the statement, has also been raised with Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak and Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi, Umno’s vice president and an MP in Perak.

BN retained power over Perak last month after a heated polls contest that saw it in a neck-and-neck race with opponents Pakatan Rakyat (PR) over the 15-day campaign period.

In early morning results announced by the Election Commission (EC) on May 6, the ruling coalition scraped through the close contest with a razor-thin majority of just three seats, sweeping 31 seats to PR’s 28 in the state’s 59-seat assembly.

In Perak, the MIC currently has one parliamentary seat ― Tapah ― which was won by its vice-president Datuk M. Saravanan.
Related Posts with Thumbnails

Latest Malaysia News